New York Top Loin Roast

This was a treat. My wife bought a New York top loin roast on sale. This is the cut of meat from which New York steaks are made. And we bought an entire roast. I did not use my FBX2D. I used my Inkbird thermometers, and I kept a smoke log this time.

I found a rub for NY steaks from Hey Grill Hey that I thought I might try. The recipe calls for two rubs applied to the meat. On the day of the smoke, I thought it might be too spicy for some of my family. I paired it down quite a bit. I ended up using a very simple rub:

  • 2 tbsp. Fresh cracked black pepper
  • 2 tbsp. Kosher salt
  • 2 tbsp. Smoked paprika
  • 4 tbsp. brown sugar

Prep

I smoked this on my Oklahoma Joe Bronco drum smoker. I was able to hold an average temp of 226Ā° the whole cook. I really like how easy it is to hold temps. I started with some used charcoal left from the last cook on the Bronco. I added a few more lit briquettes and strips of Madrone wood. The whole cook lasted 5 hours. The next day, there was plenty of charcoal left and some of the wood strips hadn’t even lit. It looked like only about half the charcoal basket burned… if that.

The Cook

The meat went on about 11:50. I thought it would take about five hours to complete. It was an almost 9 lb. boneless roast. I was shooting for 135Ā° internal temp so it would be medium rare. I think I succeeded. My wife said it was perfect. I like my steak medium. But I want others to enjoy their steak and most people in my family like it medium rare.

I had to adjusted smoker temps along the way. I thought the meat was cooking too fast. So I lowered the temp about three hours in. I increased it again a couple hours later. When my temp probe showed the meat was at 135Ā°, I began probing multiple spots. Several spots showed lower IT. I left the meat on until I could get spot reads closer to 135Ā°. The probe that was in place read 142Ā° when I finally took the meat off the grill to rest. It turned out just they way I wanted. This was a fairly easy cook. We’ll have look for another roast on sale.

Leave a comment